The folks at the Gluten Intolerance Group have put together a great PDF on how to determine if a product is gluten-free.
To summarize the PDF, they have three tips:
1. Certified: A product which carries a 3rd party certification such as that of GIG’s Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) is considered safe for gluten-free consumers.
2. Labeled: If an FDA-regulated product is labeled “gluten-free” and has a production date of August 5, 2014 or later, it is considered safe to consume.
3. Ingredients: For products which are neither certified nor labeled “gluten-free,” it is essential to read the ingredient list. Just in case you were wondering, all Uncle Dan’s seasonings and salad dressings are certified gluten-free.