Jason Gritten Principal & Chief SEM Strategist
Looking back over my 35 years, I can’t remember a Christmas or Holiday that did not include Uncle Dan’s Country Dill dip. As my two brother’s and I have grown up and moved all over the country we’ve found ourselves in places that don’t carry Uncle Dan’s. For many years now, when the holidays roll around and Mom calls to ask us what we want for Christmas, all three of us ask for the same thing; “Can you send us some Uncle Dan’s Mom?” We follow the recipe on the back but use salad dressing or Miracle Whip instead of Mayonnaise which gives it an extra kick. So from the Gritten family, thank you Uncle Dan’s for sharing so many Christmas’s with us.
The folks at the Gluten Intolerance Group have put together a great PDF on how to determine if a product is gluten-free.
To summarize the PDF, they have three tips:
1. Certified: A product which carries a 3rd party certification such as that of GIG’s Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) is considered safe for gluten-free consumers.
2. Labeled: If an FDA-regulated product is labeled “gluten-free” and has a production date of August 5, 2014 or later, it is considered safe to consume.
3. Ingredients: For products which are neither certified nor labeled “gluten-free,” it is essential to read the ingredient list. Just in case you were wondering, all Uncle Dan’s seasonings and salad dressings are certified gluten-free.
The “Afternoon with Uncle Dan” web series is set to start shooting on Hayden Lake on July 19th. The first season of the series was launched in the summer of 2013, and featured seven chefs from local restaurants. A total of 29 videos were produced in the first season, and a total of 21 unique recipes were created for the series. Here is Uncle Dan himself, telling the Uncle Dan's Seasoning and Salad Dressing story!